Tail Trauma

Tail Trauma

Postby bubblesharp » Wed Oct 26, 2011 6:17 pm

Hi Guys

I have a question, could not find the answer. I am new to Iguana keeping and have read in just about every caresheet not to handle them by the tails as to prevent tail trauma. I had the unfortunate event where one of our dogs managed to get into my reptile room (Don't ask me how, I don't know how!) Thing is I was holding a young iguana in my hand, next thing I know the flippen dog barks next to me jumped up and the iguana di'n't like this. (neither would I) so he jump before I could get a handle on the situation that was bound to unfold here with the dog in the room. The iguana jump straight for the dog's face and the dog just waiting for the iguana to land. I had no other choice I had to catch it in mid air. We all know how fast a Jack Russel can be. I got him on the belly but with all the stress he didn't want to know anything about being held. He got out of my hand and I had him by the tail. I kicked the dog away (I don't normally kick my dogs) to make space to let him down on the floor. This happend in about 2 seconds, if that long.

I picked him up properly before the dog came back for a second try, I took the dog out before trying to put the iguana back as there is another 2 in the same enclosure and the last thing I wanted was 3 iguanas out and about with a dog ready to munch them. The iguana looked fine, but I did notice in kink in the tail about halfway down. (the dog is fine also)

So thats the whole story in short. All I need to know now is. I was unable to avoid tail trauma to the iguana, what happens now. Does the tail have to be amputated or will it heal or what should I do. I live in Sinovill PTA, and if need be can get to Onderste Poort. There is a Vet but I have no contact details for her.

Any advice will be apreciated, or contact details for Reptile vets in PTA North area.

Thanks everyone
Eben Brits
Cell 071 603 6596
BBM 27E1FDF4
bubblesharp
SA Reptiles Member