Best Display Snake

Best Display Snake

Postby Francois » Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:01 pm

I want to get myself a snake for a natural vivarium. I was thinking of a green tree python, kenyan sand boa or maybe even a type of rat snake, but I'm not that experienced and the budget is a little tight for the GTP.

I already have a crested gecko that I'm keeping on bioactive substrate and I'm very happy with it. I will probably use it for this setup too.

So, what would you say is the best display snake?
Francois
SA Reptiles Member

Re: Best Display Snake

Postby Reynard » Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:19 pm

Not a sand boa. They always under the sand.
1.2 Red Tail Boas

It's my life. Let me live it.
Reynard
SA Reptiles Member

Postby ColinWa » Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:34 pm

Funny enough, My girlfriends sand boa's are out quite a lot actually, and their viv's look pretty nice when done properly.
"I hold that the more helpless a creature, the more entitled it is to protection by man from the cruelty of man"
ColinWa
SA Reptiles Member

Postby wadekilian » Mon Nov 19, 2012 1:10 pm

Arboreal species seem to make the best display animals. If you want to go that route, I'd recommend a Panther Chameleon.

If you wanna do something different, have a look at Patrick Huddleson's vivarium that he kept and raised Leopard Geckos in. In that kind of set up, I think normals would be the best and cheapest option.
073 815 4741
BBM - 296fe3c5
wadekilian@yahoo.com
wadekilian
SA Reptiles Member

Postby scotty121 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:11 pm

Try asking around for a Bush snake, they are aboreal, eat geckos, and need lighting for heat, day light.
Another good aboreal species will be carpet pythons and red tail boa's, they get a bit big, but are beautiful and great display snakes.

For lizards, I would get a beardied dragon or a water dragon, amazing lizards in my opinion.

Good luck. :-)
If at first you don't succeed it won't hurt to smoke some weed, Dr Dre.
scotty121
SA Reptiles Member