Invasive brown tree snake

You can find all the current news with regard to Reptiles here. Announcements about anything reptile and site related will be made here as well for your information.

Invasive brown tree snake

Postby snake kid » Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:08 pm

Hi all So I haven't been posting at all lately but found something interesting today and decided to share it(Hope this is the right section). So I work as a guide at a game lodge ad we often get volunteers from other countries. This last week we had a lady named Mary from USA and she was telling me about what she did back home. She basically does ecological impact studies and Solving problems with invasive species as well as protecting Fauna and Flora.

So knowing that I love snakes she told me about a project in Guam that is going on to eradicate the Brown tree snake which if my mind serves me correct is native to Australia. It is a semi Venomous snake and eats birds, birds eggs, frogs and gecko's. They have invaded in Guam and are really becoming a problem. (For those of you that suck in Geography Guam is a little island close to Hawaii) They cause major power outages by climbing into empty light sockets and short circa-ting the power causing factories to loose time and money. They climb into small aircraft's propeller systems and jam them. They are eradicating the birds of that area and already caused local extinction of 7 bird species (Local extinction does't mean they are extinct, only that they do not occur at that locality any more) All this because they have no Natural predators and their numbers are increasing to large extensiveness.