Bothriechis schlegelii - Bite.

This section will help you get first aid treatment protocols incase of an envenomation. This includes indigenous and exotic reptiles. Please do not use this forum for photo sharing, etc.

Bothriechis schlegelii - Bite.

Postby bradmiller » Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:21 pm

I hoped the day would never come... but as they say - you are either in 1 of 2 groups..... so now... I have been bitten.

Although I have had almost 20 years experience keeping snakes (of which 10 of these are keeping venomous) I had never been tagged by a hot, yet I knew in the back of my mind it will happen one day.
I am not gonna say don't keep hots, and only do this or that, but rather know what affect your hobby/passion/profession has on those you care about.

Owning any hot is a huge risk not only to your own health but a risk to the people you love. The people you care about (some of you will agree) they do not really want you to be so intimate with something potentially deadly. In one split second you are happy and loving life then they are in a mad panic, worried that their life may be turned upside down as a result of an incident with your slithery friends.

Complacency is a b1tch, and it hurts!

So here is my VERY LUCKY story!!!!

Sunday 24 October late at night, doing chores for my scaly friends when it came time to examine my Eyelash Viper (who has been very unhappy and not eating for a while).
After pining and examining the mouth for signs of mucus and infection (which was clear) I decide to quickly check his lung if that was clear too.
STUPID me I thought I could just quickly check while I had him firmly gripped (instead of tubing him), this combo he really did not like and as quick as a flash he twisted in my grip with such force I thought I was going to break some bones and promptly jabbed one fang neatly under the nail of my middle finger - boiling water injected directly into your flesh! that's what it felt like! Instant pain!