Could snakes be AI?

Here is the place to discuss anything not related to reptiles and does not fall into any other catagories.

Could snakes be AI?

Postby CarlaSmit87 » Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:43 am

Okay I know weird question here, but could it be possible to artificially inseminate a snake? Could viable sperm be extracted from a male (guess via needle through skin into sperm ducts) and inserted into a ovulating female? If this could be achieved imagine the possibilities of breeding snakes without having the chances of something happening to your snake on a breeding loan. Breeding your female in JHB with male sperma from CPT? AI can be done with almost all mammals, why not reptiles?
Sorry if this is a stupid question... :oops:
CarlaSmit87
SA Reptiles Member

Re: Could snakes be AI?

Postby Westley Price » Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:58 am

I'm not experienced in this, but here are afew links:

http://www.sareptiles.co.za/forum/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=23607

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19360586

http://www.smuggled.com/AIS2.htm

http://phys.org/news9159.html

So it has been done before, but the rarity with which it occurs probably means it's a difficult and delicate process.

Certain morphs of snake command VERY high prices, so I guess if it were easy, sperm would be offered for sale more regularly.
"I am dying by inches from not having anybody to talk to about insects." - Charles Darwin
Westley Price
Forum gatekeeper

Postby CarlaSmit87 » Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:58 am

Wow found this great info!

If this remotely interests you please read this: http://www.smuggled.com/AIS2.htm
CarlaSmit87
SA Reptiles Member

Postby CarlaSmit87 » Mon Feb 25, 2013 1:57 pm

Thanks for the links Westley! Very interesting and worth a read
CarlaSmit87
SA Reptiles Member

Postby it_bit_me » Tue Feb 26, 2013 1:26 am

They attempted it with Angolan pythons 30-40 years ago.