Beardies in Durban

Beardies in Durban

Postby Sh1rk3E » Tue Feb 07, 2012 9:13 pm

hey guys,

I'm new to the whole internet forum thing and have been poking around this site for the last few months reading up on as much as I can about Lizards.

So a bit about me...17 from Durbs ...love animals!! looking to go into Vetinarry sciences next year.

A few months back on the drive home from Sun City ( much to my inexperience) I Purchased a Flap neck chameleon as a pet. At the time i had no idea about laws and legalities with regards to these amazing animals and after returning home discovered ...much to my despair that they where not allowed. so a trip to the local reptile park soon helped correct things with the Chams going to a home where people who where qualified to keep them, did.

But that experience light a spark inside me and I want to get a new reptile ... something a bit more legal and friendly. I'v stumbled apon many Bearded dragon's that where for sale in and around Durban but wanted to know if anyone could recommend a place to get babies? and if not is it okay to get grown lizards? will they be aggressive towards me?

I'm a real newbie at keeping reptiles so are they easy to keep?

what would be a recommended enclosure for them? indoors? outdoors? sizes? I have quite a large yard that could easily host a wire mesh permanent outdoor enclosure...

Also what would be a recommended price for one of these babies?

I understand you cant keep two males together so how do you sex them?

I'm sorry if I carried on for myself a bit. Really new to this but keen to learn!

all comments will be greatly appreciated!
thanks!

P.S. I've been breeding crickets for years and selling them to my friends as a pocket money making thing so feeding them will not be a problem
Sh1rk3E
SA Reptiles Member

Re: Beardies in Durban

Postby aleena_angel » Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:19 am