I need some help...

I need some help...

Postby Hendre » Fri May 07, 2010 9:10 pm

SO today i had the privilege to save these two cuties from certain death... I received a sort of a tip-off and went to investigate, these 2 were found in a cage WAY to small for the big one and they are swimming in their own poo with rotten budgie eggs and other broken eggs lying in the cage for who knows how long now... I took the snakes without even arguing about it, although the owner didnt argue he knew it was best...

Im looking to get permits for these guys, no he didnt have, the problem is I have no experience with egg-eaters but im sure with the help of this community i'll be fine as usual :)
im posting all of these pics as it is pretty much the most info i have about them, i tried to keep them still for the pics and i tried to picture them relative to something or at least each other, the big one looks healthy and is the nice brownish color, the small one is more reddish but very thin, this concerns me as i have no experience in tube-feeding and dont know where to find small enough eggs, the eggs that i have found are the quill eggs in the pictures. they aren't eating at the moment...

Here is the pictures:
(The questions will follow)

My questions are as follows:

1) will the big one be able to eat one of those two eggs? he is pictured with them

2) can anybody give me an age estimate on these two?

3) is there an easy way to tell male from female

4) i'm guessing its common egg-eaters, am I correct?

5) im in Stellenbosch does anybody know a source or eggs nearby? or more urgently where i can find smaller eggs?

They are beautiful snakes and extremely calm when handled id really hate to lose them and would love to care for them please help me to do so by helping me :)

Thanks
A slithery slide on the wild side
Hendre
SA Reptiles Member

Re: I need some help...

Postby Fooble » Fri May 07, 2010 9:24 pm

Hendre wrote:(The questions will follow)

My questions are as follows: